Browse Services

Members & Subcommittees

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Initiative

Mayor Demings' Seal
Large group of business professionals taking a group photo around meeting tables

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Initiative members at the inaugural meeting.

About The Members

The Orange County MLK Initiative is comprised of various local community partners and stakeholders from the private, public and non-profit sectors appointed by Mayor Demings.


  • Onchantho Am, University of Central Florida
  • Dr. Earl Mowatt, OnePulse Foundation

Focus Areas

Education & Literacy

Advocate and promote Educational and Literacy programs in Orange County while placing special emphasis on primary to secondary education along with adult literacy; Create opportunities that are aligned with Dr. King’s mission to recognize our local youth for their academic and scholastic achievement

Community Engagement & Outreach

Engage the community through meaningful opportunities and experiences that encourages diversity, intersectionality, and social change within our community; Create initiatives that promote the collaboration of people, resources, and services

Diversity & Inclusion

Establish cross-sector partnerships within Orange County in order to create solutions that will move our community towards a more common ground together; Create opportunities that will promote collaboration and unity while placing emphasis on educating about cultural differences and social change

Marketing & Public Relations

Assist and support the creation, advertisement, and promotion of the Initiative’s projects and events; Collaborate with other communication affiliates regarding community engagement and outreach


Role Name
Member Latisha Thompson, Orlando Utilities Commission
Member Roderick Zak, Rejoice in the Lord Ministries
Member Dr. Roneisha Randall, Sunridge Middle School
Member Russell Drake, Democratic Black Caucus,
District 3 Representative
Member Carrie Brown, Retired,
District 6 Representative
Member Delitza Fernandez, Heart of Florida United Way
Member Neika Berry, Nehemiah Educational & Economic Development, Incorporated
Member Sandra Fatmi, Pine Hills Community Council,
District 2 Representative
Member Traci Smith-Kimes, Clinical Research Consulting, Incorporated
Member Tanisha Gary, African American Chambers of Orlando
Member Samantha Vega, Center for Inclusion & Campus Involvement, Rollins College
Member Angela Lagos, Universal Parks & Resorts
Member Charles Hawkins, Law Firm of Charles J. Hawkins II, P.A.,
District 5 Representative
Member Dr. Ernest Page Jr., Advent Health
Member Min Sun Kim, Edyth Bush Institute for Philanthropy & Nonprofit Leadership
Member Tonja Graham, Duke Energy
Member Will Jefferson, Polis Institute
Member Contona Thomas, Web TV Digest LLC
Member Jaylen Christie, Community/Civic Partner
Member Kyle Alexandre, Orlando Regional Realtors Association
Member Ricky Ly, Jacobs Engineering
Member Robert Henlon, Fierce Entertainment Management, LLC
Member Vida Addison, Community/Civic Partner
Member Dr. Idler Bonhomme, Greater Haitian American Chambers of Commerce – Orlando
Member Krysteena Downes, Second Harvest Food Bank of Central Florida
Member Eddie Ishman-Davis, Retired Educator
Member Antoine Demings, Enterprise Mobility
Member Vanessa Singh, Valencia College