Browse Services

2018 Oath of Office Ceremony

Since 1990, Orange County has operated as a “strong mayor” form of charter government. Under this structure, the Mayor serves as the CEO and Chair of the Board of County Commissioners (BCC). Members of the BCC are independently-elected from 6 districts, and serve in a legislative capacity.


2018 Oath of Office

The 2018 Oath of Office Ceremony took place at the Orange County Convention Center on Tuesday, December 4 at 10:30 a.m. Mayor Jerry L. Demings, Commissioner Christine Moore, District Two, Commissioner Mayra Uribe, District Three, Commissioner Maribel Gomez Cordero, District Four and Commissioner Victoria P. Siplin, District Six took their oaths of office.

The ceremony was complimentary and open to the public. It was televised live on Orange TV, which is carried on Spectrum Channel 488, Comcast Channel 9, CenturyLink Channel 1081, digital over-the-air on 10.2 and is available online.


Mayor Demings portrait

Mayor Jerry L. Demings is a native of Orlando. He received his Bachelor of Science degree in Finance from Florida State University and his Master of Business Administration degree from Orlando College, now Everest University. He served as Orlando’s first African American Police Chief and first African American Orange County Director of Public Safety. In 2008, he was elected the first African American Sheriff and Constitutional Officer in the history of Orange County and was re-elected in 2012 and 2016. On August 28, 2018, Mayor-elect Demings was elected the first African American Mayor of Orange County. He was sworn in as Mayor on December 4, 2018 and will be chief executive for over 7,500 county employees with a budget of over $4 billion.


With our own charter and state constitution we govern ourselves with an independence that puts citizens first.

Seven elected members serve four-year terms on the Board of County Commissioners (BCC) including the mayor who is elected at large. The mayor and commissioners serve overlapping four-year terms. The mayor and commissioners for districts 2, 4, and 6 are elected during alternate years (2006, 2010, 2014, 2018). Commissioners for districts 1, 3, and 5 are elected in presidential election years (2008, 2012, 2016, 2020).

Citizens have an opportunity to amend the county charter every four years on any special, primary, or general election ballot.

Commissioner Christine Moore portrait

Christine Moore
District Two

Commissioner Mayra Uribe portrait

Mayra Uribe
District Three

Commissioner Maribel Gomez Cordero portrait

Maribel Gomez Cordero
District Four

Commissioner Victoria P Siplin

Victoria P. Siplin
District Six

Map & Location

2018 Oath of Office Ceremony
Orange County Convention Center
2018 Oath of Office Ceremony
Orange County Convention Center