Browse Services

2022 Oath of Office Ceremony

On Tuesday, December 6, 2022 the Oath of Office Ceremony will take place to swear in Orange County Mayor Jerry L. Demings; Commissioner Christine Moore, District Two; Commissioner Maribel Gomez Cordero, District Four; and Commissioner-elect Michael “Mike” Scott, District Six.

The event is open to the public and those planning to attend must RSVP by December 1.


2022 Oath of Office

The 2022 Oath of Office Ceremony will take place on Tuesday, December 6, 2022 at 9 a.m. at the Orange County Convention Center in North Concourse Room N320. Complimentary event parking will be available.

The ceremony will be broadcast live on Orange TV and on the Orange County social media channels, Facebook and Twitter.


Mayor Demings portrait

Mayor Jerry L. Demings is a native of Orlando. He received his Bachelor of Science degree in Finance from Florida State University and his Master of Business Administration degree from Orlando College, now Everest University.

He served as Orlando’s first African American Police Chief and the first African American Orange County Director of Public Safety. In 2008, he was elected the first African American Sheriff and Constitutional Officer in the history of Orange County and was re-elected in 2012 and 2016.

In August 2018, Jerry L. Demings was the first African American elected Mayor of Orange County. In August 2022, he was re-elected for a second term.

Mayor Demings is the chief executive of over 8,000 county employees and serves nearly 1.5 million residents.


With our own charter and state constitution we govern ourselves with an independence that puts citizens first.

Seven elected members serve four-year terms on the Board of County Commissioners (BCC) including the mayor who is elected at large. The mayor and commissioners serve overlapping four-year terms. The mayor and commissioners for districts 2, 4, and 6 are elected during alternate years (2010, 2014, 2018, 2022). Commissioners for districts 1, 3, and 5 are elected in presidential election years (2012, 2016, 2020, 2024).

Citizens have an opportunity to amend the county charter every four years on any special, primary, or general election ballot.

Commissioner Christine Moore portrait

Christine Moore

District Two

Commissioner Maribel Gomez Cordero portrait

Maribel Gomez Cordero

District Four

Commissioner Victoria P Siplin

Michael “Mike” Scott

District Six

Map & Location

2022 Oath of Office Ceremony
Orange County Convention Center
2022 Oath of Office Ceremony
Orange County Convention Center