Transect zones are primarily classified by the physical intensity of the built form, the relationship between nature and the built environment, and secondly by the complexity of uses within the zone.

To arrange the analysis and coding of traditional patterns, a prototypical Rural-to-Urban Transect has been divided into six Transect Zones, or T-zones, for application on zoning maps. These six habitats vary by the level and intensity of their physical and social character, providing immersive contexts within each T-Zone.

This zoning system replaces the conventional separated-use zoning system that has encouraged a car-dependent culture, unnecessary use separation, and land-consuming sprawl. Transect Zones instead provide the basis for integrated diversity, supporting neighborhood structure, which requires walkable streets, mixed use, transportation options, and housing diversity.

The Orange County Transect has been calibrated to reflect local character and form. It contains all six T-zones:

The benefits of using the Transect zones:

  • Using commonly accepted language for a new zoning code.
  • Creation of walkable places.
  • Enabling successional potential for communities to evolve gracefully and sustainably over generations.
  • Providing the ability to plug into Transect-based codes and supplementary Modules created by different experts in the design, engineering, and environmental fields.
Transect Zones

Transect zones:

  • There are 6 Transect Zones identifiers T1, T2, T3 ,T4, T5 and T6 as well as a secondary identifier (such as T3.1, T3.2, T3.3, and SZ-ED, SZ-LI, and SZ-MH);
  • Check building form standards for each Transect Zones
  • Uses and development in T1 is limited to facilities and amenities for recreation, management, and education, associated with natural lands