Orange County Government, Florida

Community Corner

Orange County was established in 1824 as Mosquito County. In 1845 the name was changed to Orange County when Florida became a state. The county was renamed for the orange groves that thrived in the area and constituted the county’s main crop for export.

Located in Central Florida, Orange County has a population of 1.2 million citizens. Orange County has a total area of 1,003.26 square miles, of which 903 square miles is land and 99 square miles is water. There are 10 cities and 3 towns in Orange County, making up 13 municipalities. The county seat is located in Orlando.

Home to the eleventh largest school district in the nation, Orange County Public Schools, and the University of Central Florida, the second largest public university for student enrollment, Orange County offers an unparallel educational system.

World famous attractions, the nation’s second largest convention center and year round sunshine help make Central Florida a top business and vacation destination of travelers from all over the world.

For more information on Orange County’s cities, please visit our partner websites.